251/365 Don’t Use a Bodice-Ripper Romance to Make Art. Just Don’t.

Art piece of female statue with cut out words attached

251/365

I got it into my head once to create art pieces with cutout sentence fragments from books. They’re everywhere! I took it one step further. I cut out the fragments and attached them to something I wanted to photograph, et voilà! In this case, I attached them to a framed photo.

So I hit a second-hand bookstore and grabbed a bodice-ripper romance because I thought it would have interesting sentences. When I got home, I pored over the book, searching for intriguing sentences.

Oh dear. It was a Christian romance novel. Aaaaack! How did that happen?

I searched anyway. I cut out about nine different sentences, threw them in a little baggie, and tossed the book out. In over 200 pages, I couldn’t find more than nine interesting sentences. Futile. The writing sucked. And…oh dear lord…I read a Christian romance novel. That was the worst part.

Serves me for picking up a trash romance for this project. If I do it again, I’m looking for a Stephen King novel. Now there’s a writer!

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on July 10, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Christian romance novel???? LOL!! Maybe you could do the same with a William Boroughs novel and reassemble it how he’d written it before the cut-ups – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Soft_Machine
    Blessings 🙂

    • Oh my, that’s messing with my mind. Have you ever taken a sentence or paragraph of text, put it into an online translator and translated it into, say, Japanese, then taken the Japanese and re-translated it into, oh, maybe Hindi, then taken that and had it translated back into English? That sounds about what you’re asking me to do. Laughter ensues.

  2. I once spent ages cutting out random words and phrases from magazines to make a photo for a book cover. Have you come across text generated using Markov Chain methods? You can get some bizarrely fascinating results with that. e.g. http://www.strangeways.net/projects/markov

    • Love the concept of the Markov Chain method. That particular link uses the first chapter of George Orwell’s “1984” exclusively. It generated some really rad sentences. I can see how it could be inspirational; making one see sentence structures and word placement in such a way that it sparks a completely new thought and triggers a creative new thought pattern. Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

