241/365 Beauty in Holliday Park

Reaching to the Sun

241/365 Worship

I am surprised I haven’t already featured these photos yet! I searched and searched through my posts, using every keyword I could think of but came up with nothing. I know I’ve posted these somewhere besides on Flickr. Probably on Facebook back in 2010 when I initially took the photos.

I remember the evening. I was restless and had to get away. Usually that means I end up somewhere like Kentucky where I hit the Bourbon Trail, or St. Louis where I attend Mass for the first (and only) time at the Cathedral Basilica of Saint Louis. Or I go somewhere more local like Oliver Winery located an hour away down south near Bloomington. But this time I went to Holliday Park, just across town. And I pretended to have a Greek vacation. The ruins can do that for you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At the time I lived in Irvington. Irvington is about 30 minutes away from Holliday Park so it was like a mini-vacation. Now I live just a few blocks away and can walk there whenever I want. So happy!

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on June 30, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past, Wanderlust and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. very nice, Dezra. I think you should shoot more nature; it’s good for the soul.

    • Thanks, Mike. I appreciate your comment because I appreciate your nature photography. I love what you do!

      I find that I’m actually more frustrated with nature when I’m behind a camera, which is why I don’t consider myself a nature photographer. I love walking through nature and feeling it on my face and, when possible, under my bare feet. I have clarity of thought in nature, so I go there to meditate and be at peace. The camera gets in the way for me. That doesn’t mean I don’t photograph nature, I’m just not at peace when I do. It’s more a project.

      I bet, for you, you get lost in the flora and fauna, that the camera is an extension of your communication and commune with nature. I can see that, because that’s how I feel when I’m walking down an urban street and taking in all the odd and exciting things around me. That’s when the camera becomes an extension of me and I feel like I’m in communication with the world around me.

      • I can’t argue with your comment, Dezra. You have made your point so eloquently.

        When I am photographing nature, it’s as if I am looking through another person’s eyes, but I am not! It is actually me making the images. I particularly like the fact that I can let the other person do all the work., whilst I sit back and take the credit. It’s a very selfish way of doing things, though. 😉

      • Oh, but you do a LOT of work. You are out there looking for, and finding, the images that I, in turn, will look at and contemplate and enjoy. And I commend you on what you found FOR ME. I’m rather selfish like that. 😉 We communicate like that…artist to viewer.

  2. I still think you should photograph nature and try to reinforce your connection with the most powerful natural force you will ever experience.

    • I have to contemplate this. I’m not sure if the camera is my best connection to nature. Nature is soul-inspiring. I don’t know if I feel that way about photography….

      • Your camera is your third eye, and I am not sure that you have fully grasped this yet.

      • Wow. I understand the Third Eye…at least in a metaphysical sense. I may have to separate why I head into nature into two compartments…to meditate (no camera) and to explore, discover, and…oh dear…yes, SEE (with camera). Maybe that’s the difference. I really can’t photograph when I need to meditate, but I surely can when I want to SEE. Hmmm. Much to contemplate.

      • The camera sees what you and I might not when we are making the images, Dezra. A camera can be a way of freeing something trapped within, but I am not sure what it is. Sometime I feel I am close to finding out, though 🙂

      • Thanks. You’ve given me a lot to ponder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

