236/365 Sunset

236/365

236/365

Back in 2004, I took my little Canon PowerShot A75 point-and-shoot camera with me on a tour of Crown Hill Cemetery. I hadn’t graduated to a SLR yet. In fact, it wasn’t yet a stirring in my heart. I liked my little camera.

The tour of the cemetery ends up on the highest point in Indianapolis, Crown Hill, where James Whitcomb Riley is buried under a pillared monument open to the sky. (The tour guide insists that it isn’t the highest point in Indianapolis, but try telling that to Hoosiers. They scoff at me.)

I staked out my spot. It’s amazing how fast the sun sets once it gets near the horizon. And I’m amazed I actually got a shot since I didn’t have a tripod with me. I was oblivious to camera shake and how important the tripod can be. Not knowing allowed me to believe that I would get a decent shot, and although this is soft, it works for me.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on June 25, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

