225/365 Come, Sit on the Freeway and Watch the Cars Go By

225/365

225/365

Three days pass. For three days I drive by this chair. It sits alone on the side of the freeway and waits. I want to photograph it, but I’m surrounded by cars of people trying to get home after a long day at work.

On a slow Sunday, I stop across from it. I put on my emergency blinkers and hope Indy police doesn’t stop and have a talk with me. Between flashes of cars, trucks, and semi’s I capture the loneliness of the chair on a deserted freeway.

Who put it there? Someone must have put it there. It didn’t just fall off a moving van and land upright on its broken legs off to the side of the freeway. I’m sure it’s abandoned.

The next day I drive by and it’s gone.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on June 14, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

    • The first time I saw it, I chuckled. The fact that it actually stayed on the freeway for a couple of days amused me, also. I was lucky to find it still there when I could photograph it.

  1. I like it. I have long maintained that one could furnish an apartment with what you find on the side of the road. Mattresses, chairs, dressers……
    I think it would be a great social experiment to take 2 months and drive a u-haul around the USA and then do a story with photos of a furnished apartment.

    • That would be a riot! But I would insist that cloth furniture get sanitized…especially mattresses!!! (Actually, I think I’ll pass on the mattresses…) It would be interesting to see how well one can furnish an apartment from roadside trash. I think lining up the mismatched shoes in the closet would be the most fun!

      • Lining them up and wearing them.I hear you about the mattress, but for the sake of this experiment we have to use the best one we find….

      • We’ll set up the apartment to appear as one that someone can live in, all with roadkill furniture. We don’t actually have to do it ourselves……we can put a homeless couple in it (a feel good factor) make a short film, and become rich and famous. Or at least very curious. I even see toilets on the side of the road. That’s the Ewww factor.

      • Oddly enough, you can clean a toilet to almost perfection. It may first appear “ewww” but in the end it can be passable. It’s fabric that can be dicey.

        But, yes, this sounds like a semi-rich-and-famous-for-a-minute project. Definitely a lot of fun! So, when do we start? 😉

      • Or where do we start? I don’t work….I’m good to go. Maybe we can chase some storms while we are at it.

      • Unfortunately, I do work. With no vacation pay right now. 😦 But storm chasing sounds like fun when I’m FREEEEEE. 🙂

  2. Freeway furniture. Nice concept 😉

    • I don’t know how it is where you are, but there are days we call “heavy trash days” where people put out big-item furniture they no longer want…usually they’re really awful. But that would be interesting, also.

  3. That would be an interesting experiment. We could supplement it by checking curbside discards in residential neighborhoods.

    • Exactly! I had an elderly neighbor who, in her OMG-please-put-clothes-on swimsuit, went wandering up and down the streets on heavy trash day loading her car up with JUNK–and, frankly, rather decent junk. As an experiment, I think we could very well furnish an apartment with not just furniture, but knick-knacks, also. Woohoo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

