221/365 Now Go Create

In 2010 my Canon EOS 30D was stolen. I lived in Irvington at the time, in a neighborhood just feet away from drugs, guns, and alcohlic rantings.

I had taken the camera to work with me and afterwards, I placed it on the back seat of the car while I drove home. A friend of mine was going through a crisis, calling me for support throughout the day. I answered one call on the way home, a call that carried into the house where I dropped my purse and continued listening and talking.

The next day, I went out to the car. It was unlocked, which concerned me, but I was headed to work so I didn’t think more about it. Down the street I saw my wallet lying in the road. What?! I stopped to pick it up. Empty. Confused, I thought back to why it wouldn’t be in my purse, then remembered taking it out as I rummaged through the purse looking for my phone. Distracted by the phone call, I failed to put the wallet back.

Where’s your camera?

My stomach twisted and I turned to see if it was on the back seat. Gone!

Maybe I took it into the house and didn’t remember doing that? I turned the car around and went back to the house. Clammy fingers tightened on the house key as I opened the door. I scoured the house, frantic, searching for the camera bag. Not there. My camera was not in the house!

I slumped onto the couch and gave in to tears.

Over months and years I had saved to buy the camera and all the external gear. It was my camera. To start over again was financially too much for me.

To the outside world, I looked upbeat, but at home, I cried. My stolen camera came at a difficult time in my life, a time of significant loss. Relationships were dissolving. I had little in reserve for creativity. Photography kept me going, but with the camera gone, photography was fading, much like my spirit. I didn’t even pull out my point-and-shoot.

A few months later, I entered my office and found a package on my desk, and in that package was this:

221/365

221/365 It’s even a Canon EOS 30D! Did they know?

Please read the note in the photo. To this day I still don’t know who gave me this generous gift, and that’s ok, because that means it could be anyone.

This gift renewed my spirit and I started coming back. Over the months, I’ve been able to replace many of the stolen accessories. There are still a few things I’m missing, but in time I’ll have them all back. I am forever grateful to this anonymous giver. I keep this story in me at all times.

And I love the directive:

Now go create.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on June 10, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. What a wonderful thing for someone to do! I’m all choked up.

    • Whenever I share this story, it never fails to rekindle hope in others. This person’s generosity has been a gift far beyond the physical gift of the camera. I understand the sentiment you feel because I continue to feel it every time I think about this. I can only hope to one day be as generous to someone else.

  2. What a touching act of kindness!

    • I keep hoping that as I live life, I can take the spirit of this person and return it to the world. It was a very generous and kind thing to do and the only way I know how to pay it back is to pay it forward…be kind to others in big and little ways. Thank you, Graham.

  3. Thanks for sharing this touching story, Dezra. Reminds me of the words from the Wizard of Oz to the Tin Man: “A heart is not judged by how much you love; but by how much you are loved by others.”

  1. Pingback: 221/365 Thank You! « Dezra Despain

  2. Pingback: 244/365 50mm Abstractions « Dezra Despain

Leave a Reply

