204/365 I Entered Anyway Even Though I Was Alone

204/365

204/365

Along the railroad tracks on Mass Ave, I slipped through an opening in the chain-linked fence to an old, abandoned foundry. The day was cool and beautiful and the air behind the fence and between the buildings was crisp. I stepped tentatively through low-lying shrubs and weeds. The broken gravel crunched beneath my feet. My skin prickled because I didn’t know what I would find. The railroad tracks attract the under-life and I could very well be walking into someone’s territory.

I was alone and vulnerable and nervous but it didn’t stop me from taking photos, like this one of a rusted mattress spring. I didn’t take as many photos as I wanted because of the uneasy solitude. I swore I would return with a friend.

The next time I went back, it was boarded up. I regret not having courage long enough to really explore the foundry. But I relish that I had enough courage to enter in the first place.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on May 24, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. “I was alone and vulnerable and nervous but it didn’t stop me from taking photos” I have seen you write similar to this and so deduce that you live in a constant state of wanting to enter buildings where wicked witches might live… like in Donnie Darko! Excellent photo, I really do like your photographs of abandoned buildings and especially cemeteries 🙂

    • Yeah. I really wish I knew martial arts or warding spells or something to protect me. I live in a big city and crime isn’t uncommon. I need to see Donnie Darko. Never have but I’ve seen it mentioned a lot lately. Thanks!

  2. Lovely shot. I like the ‘cross hairs’ at a jaunty angle looking down into the spiral.

  3. Glorious and beautiful shot. The light, shapes and depth of focus really appeal. You know you are crazy to go in alone, but it does call to you doesn’t it? I’m glad you went in even for a brief time, it is a measure of courage, yes, but also says your soul will take a risk in search of beauty.

    • Thanks, Louise. This place, even more than others, had serious harm potential because it could house homeless or drug deals could go down. The neighborhood supports both. But I couldn’t resist. It was beautiful.

      • Those experiences are always really hard to articulate, but I know what you mean. They are extraordinary and capture the whole senses like nothing else. You’ll never forget it, that’s for sure!! 🙂

  4. You are wise to be cautious. We would not want you to be somebody’s windfall! Next time, go with a friend the first time. Wish I could have been there to be that friend!

    • I had been to Mass Ave and the railroad tracks many times prior to this. It may not be the best neighborhood, but being on the tracks near the road was relatively safe. I stumbled upon the opening to the foundry, though. I went in and took some photos and later asked a fellow photographer to go back with me. By that time, though, they had boarded it up so I’m glad I went in when I did. And I would most definitely take you with me on my abandoned places adventures! That would be so much fun! We could sing some Peter, Paul, and Mary or something. 😉

  1. Pingback: 207/365 Burnt Paper in the Foundry « Dezra Despain

  2. Pingback: 208/365 I Don’t Know What This Fabric Is But It Makes For a Great Abstract « Dezra Despain

Leave a Reply

