Ode to the Carmel Grain Elevator in Photos

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on May 10, 2012, in Musings, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Interesting to see it before and after demolition.

    And I like that wrecking ball!

    • The “before” photo was taken in 2005 and the “after” photo was taken yesterday. When I posted about this back in February, I had no idea they were demolishing it. Once they made that decision, it went fast. And I’m glad you noticed the wrecking ball! I was afraid it looked too much like the rubble and would be missed. 🙂

  2. These shots looked so beautiful! =)

  3. There are a couple of huge concrete silos just outside the marsh boundary.

    • I fell in love with this silo years ago when I used to walk the trail that passed right by it. It is a relic of years gone by. Unfortunately for the silo, the area it’s in is expensive and has been turned into an Arts District. I wish they had repurposed it as an art gallery, but that wasn’t to be. Are your silos working silos? I have yet to come across one that is…but I don’t get out into the country much where they have grain they need to process and store.

  4. I still share your fascination with the Aladdin’s lamps. Were you able to scavenge–um, salvage one, I hope?

    • I probably could have and seriously considered it but I live in a small apartment and really don’t have a place for it. So I am content with the photo.

      • Understand completely. I tend to be a bit of a pack rat, and I have to curb those impulses, too. As you well know, hardly anything beats a good photo for rekindling the memory–and it can be even better than being able to look at the original object again.

Leave a Reply

