Let’s Wander The Cemetery, Shall We?

Overcast. Misty rain. Solitude. Perfect day for a walk in the cemetery.

Lafayette Cemetery No. 3 Entrance

Cemetery No. 3

Cemetery Walkway

Cemetery No. 4

Cemetery No. 12

Cemetery No. 12

Cemetery No. 13

Cemetery No. 13

Cemetery No. 14

Cemetery No. 14

Cemetery No. 17

Cemetery No. 17

Cemetery No. 19

Cemetery No. 19

Cemetery No. 20

Cemetery No. 20

Cemetery No. 24

Cemetery No. 24

Cemetery No. 31

Cemetery No. 31

Cemetery No. 33

Cemetery No. 33

Cemetery No. 34

Cemetery No. 34

Today I wish I’d had someone else with me to help me select photos. I love so many of them that it was difficult to choose a small selection to represent the whole experience. Initially, I picked 34 images for this post thinking everyone would be as fascinated by them as I am. But then, reason brought me back to reality. Thirty-four is too many for one post, so I cut the selected photos down to twelve. I have a Flickr account where I’ll post them all. You can find them in my New Orleans set or my Cemetery set.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on May 2, 2012, in A New Orleans Experience, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. thanks for a peaceful walk to end my day

  2. This is a wonderful series, Dezra. You’ve handled them very delicately and with respect. I sure would love to see what you could get if you could visit on an early foggy morning. I find two of them (20 and 33) particularly, um, haunting (in a pleasantly intriguing way).

    • I have never had a foggy morning opportunity…mainly because I don’t usually get out in the early mornings. And if I am out, it’s because I’m headed to work. I was very happy that it was an overcast, misty day. Subsequent days were beautiful with blue skies but it made the cemeteries harsh and the haunting mood wasn’t there.

  1. Pingback: Gratitude Journal Entry #18 « My Soul Leapt

Leave a Reply

