164 – 174 Catch Up!

While in New Orleans, I had minimal access to a computer and no access to my photos so I have fallen behind. Catch up time!

I grabbed Todd for a photo shoot so that I could get a “white male” demographic for the school’s capstone event. (The Media Arts & Science program director at the time was complaining that his demographic wasn’t being represented in the design work I had been doing for capstones.) The following two images are of the photo I took and of the design I ended up creating.

164/365

164/365

2008 Capstone

The Church I attended back in 2000-whatever had just installed a new organ with a chamade. The chamade are horns that extend out over the organ instead of up to the ceiling. I want to call these trompette-en-chamade but I’m not 100% certain that’s what they are, but my guess is that’s what they are. Truly impressive. Unfortunately, the person who knew how to play them left that congregation and now they sit unused because the minister didn’t hire a real organist.

165/365

165/365

The following two photos have been manipulated in Photoshop to get a vintage feel. One day I was feeling restless and took off, trying to get lost. It’s very hard to get lost in Indiana. I ended up in Peru, Indiana where they have a clown school. And, apparently Sherrill’s has a thriving sense of humor.

166/365

166/365

167/365

167/365

On my quest to get lost, I ended up at Mississinewa Lake where I wandered the deserted beach.

168/365

168/365

The following was taken with a point-and-shoot where the flash fired. What an odd firing pattern! But I love the colors and the depth that came out of it.

169/365

169/365

In one of my master classes, I began the seedling for my final master project. It would be an art installation. I created a movie that moved v e r y s l o w l y. It’s called “Senescence” and this is one of the beginning slides.

170/365

170/365

I was the official photographer for the other classmates working on their own projects. This gal was working on a 3-D project. The weird glasses and the remote with the ball-topped antenna receive signals from a computer to determine where you are in the program. If you build enough rooms, wearing these accessories makes you feel like you’re walking through them. Really cool.

171/365

171/365

The following three photos were taken downtown Indianapolis on Monument Circle. The last two are reflection photos.

172/365

172/365

173/365

173/365

174/365

174/365

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on April 24, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That church organ looks fantastic. Also like the vintage Sherrill’s shot.

    • That church organ was gorgeous. And if played by the right person, it sounded incredible. I miss it.

      Just so you know, I didn’t eat at Sherrill’s nor did I get gas there (I got it elsewhere, haha). But I did swerve wildly from the inside lane to get to the outside lane so I could turn abruptly into a parking lot to get the photo.

  2. I really like those vintage shots. And very clear reflections!

    • Thanks, Sheila. Sometimes I have to add a touch of photo manipulation to get the feel I want. However, with as much manipulation as I did on those photos, I consider it more an artistic rendition of the photos rather than a representation of what I saw. But it works for them.

      I will have more reflection photos come up because I went through a phase where all I saw was reflections…especially in bars. 🙂

Leave a Reply

