157/365 Detail of the Rivoli

157/365

157/365

I fell in love with the Rivoli Theater the first time I saw it in all its decaying glory. It is a magical theater, conjuring up visions of the Roaring Twenties with fashionable women and dapper men strolling along the street, tickets in hand, waiting for the show to start. I don’t know if that’s really how it was, but that’s what I saw and felt. I immediately called a friend who has lived in Indianapolis all his life and asked, “What’s the story? How did something so magnificent fall into such disgrace?”

I will leave the answers for another post because I want to do it justice. But for now in this single photo, I hope you enjoy the beauty of the decay.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on April 7, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wonderful image Dezra. I think we have a similar eye and are drawn to the same things.

    • It appears that is true. My favorite subject to photograph is something with lots of character…and that usually means something that has been around for a long time. I like anything that implies or tells a story.

  2. Cool photo, I love buildings like this 🙂

Leave a Reply

