124-136/365 Two Weeks of Catch Up

Catch up time! I promise to be short and to-the-point. However, if you find that this is tl;dr, then at least scroll down to Big Butter Jesus. You can’t go wrong with Big Butter Jesus. (For those new to my blog, I am doing a project where I upload a photo taken in the past either on today’s date or close to it. I had been ill for two weeks, so now I’m catching up.)

124/365

124/365

Reflection shot.

125/365

125/365

I learned that the knitted cap that he is wearing is called a beanie. I’ve never called it a beanie. I laughed because a beanie in my world was a cap with a whirligig on top. But apparently it’s called a beanie. I call it a knitted cap.

126/365

126/365

Scott McCloud, comic artist, came to my university and I photographed the event. His daughter kept saying he takes goofy photos. However, when I made this photo, all elements came into place and I knew instantly I had a keeper.

127/365

127/365

I was tired of making designs for the university that fit a traditional, stable, boring mold so I asked a student and now friend-for-life if she would pose for me for something a bit more edgy (at the time). She did. The hardest part? Keeping her from smiling!!!

2008 Capstone Ad

2008 Capstone Ad. My design concept ruined by too much text.

The faculty in charge of capstones INSISTED on all the text. “I’m a designer, I know what I’m doing,” he kept saying as he looked down on me. At least it wasn’t like it used to be, all text with a “pretty” border.

128/365

128/365

A hotel was being renovated. I was new with photography and didn’t feel comfortable documenting their renovations. But I did take some reference shots.

129/365

129/365

Sometimes the vehicle in front of you on the road has a lot to say. I think this one kept saying, “Back off. Do you want to get dumped on?”

130/365

130/365

I was in Cincinnati with a friend who was having her project photographed by a craft book company. They had a ton of stuff on their shelves for possible photo ops. This is one of my favorite shots of their shelves.

131/365

131/365

Again, while in Cincinnati, I went with my friend to an antique store. I saw this doll with terrifying wings and couldn’t get enough of it. Over the years I have kicked myself for not buying the doll, but now that I see the photo again I know I could never have kept it. The wings. Angel wings, torn and abused. I couldn’t. I do have nightmarish dreams about this doll occasionally.

132/365

132/365

Simple sunset.

133/365

133/365

Near where I used to live was a pond sequestered off the main road. At times when I wandered down to this pond it frightened me. I heard the banjos from “Deliverance” many times, even though they were in my head. One time while I was walking down this way, two men were talking…two rednecks…and we all know that means DELIVERANCE.

134/365

134/365

A windy evening whipped the flag into an ethereal frenzy.

135/365

135/365

Oh my. Where do I start. Heywood Banks sings, “Big Butter Jesus.” I actually drove to Ohio specifically to see this because of Heywood Banks. And it was more frightening/amusing than he intimated. Luckily, in June 2010 it burnt down. I am glad I got photos before it did.

Click on image to see animation. Warning: could induce seizures.

136/365

136/365

I love cemeteries and I love the statues in cemeteries. This small cemetery had a delightful statue of a child feeding the birds. I captured various angles but this is my favorite. It’s one of those that I almost deleted because of the flare, but it’s because of the flare that I ended up keeping it and loving it. I used it as the focal point in a digital art project:

Digital Art Project

Out There

Now I’m all caught up. Yay!

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on March 17, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I agree the flag has that WOW factor. My favorite is the composite. Very impressive. Big Butter Jesus was very entertaining!

    • Thanks, Sheila. BBJ was a riot until it burned down. There were so many jokes about it. The church is proposing another statue for that area…it will be fire-proof and won’t have Jesus exclaiming a touchdown! I hope it is much nicer because the Church is highly visible from the freeway so whatever they put there will be seen by many.

Leave a Reply

