It Was Rough But I Had Fun

It’s one thing to recover from the flu in the apartment, where the most energy you expend is in walking from the bedroom to the kitchen and making coffee. It’s quite another to go outside and hike down to a river and back up. And what I mean by “hike” is to walk down about 10 stone steps, wander along the banks for about ten feet, start coughing, pull yourself up a steep embankment, look for a dry spot of spring dirt, sit, and calm your heart while still coughing.

I am not good at convalescing.

But I did enjoy myself. I went to the Indianapolis Art Center. It’s near where I live and they have the ARTSPARK, a 12-acre landscape of interactive sculptures placed amongst wildlife and vegetation. It was designed by Michael Graves (yes, THE Michael Graves) and is one of my favorite places to visit when I want to relax.

I debated whether or not to walk down to the White River banks because I knew I was still weak, but the stone steps seemed easy enough. Once on the banks, I could smell the watery decay that accompanies decomposing vegetation. Not pleasant, but not bad, especially since there were no flies or mosquitoes this early in the season. I focused on the lazy flow of the river and the trees that grew from the banks. My sandals sunk into mud at times and I teetered on toppling over at other times as I stepped on roots and uneven ground. But it was worth it because I found this incredible tree with huge roots spreading and sinking into the Indiana clay.

Algae-covered Roots

Impressive Roots Covered in Algae

Another Angle of Roots

These roots are large!

Close up of Roots

Close up

I love huge trees and if they have exposed roots, so much the better. The roots hint at the mysteries of the underworld and of the character of the tree. Once, in Tennessee, I met a great old tree with exposed gnarled roots that demanded attention. This tree stood guardian to the wood beyond. I felt like I was in the presence of ancient wisdom.

It didn’t take too long for me to succumb to coughing, so I hiked back up the embankment—not all that far really; just a few feet—and sat down to rest and cough. A few minutes later, I left…slowly…to avoid more coughing fits. On the way out, I stopped for a few shots of the Twisted House sculpture by John McNaughton.

Twisted House at Artspark

Indianapolis Art Center -- Twisted House by John McNaughton

It was the spring daffodils that popped against the dreary background that I really loved, though.

Top of Twisted House Pointing Down

Yes, that's the top of the house.

I slowly made my way out of the ARTSPARK and to my car where I drove home, fixed a cup of afternoon coffee, and relaxed from my excursion outdoors. Hopefully today I will be able to do more because I refuse to miss Spring.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on March 16, 2012, in Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That Twisted House looks fascinating!

    • It’s a lot of fun. You can go inside it but there’s nothing inside but concrete floor and the wood sides. It is really more an aesthetic piece of fun than anything and it does make one smile.

Leave a Reply

