121/365 Senescence

Montage of Images

Senescence

Senescence. Such a strange word but one I love. A word full of mystery and whispering decay. Not terrible decay but natural decay. Senescence is growing old, but more than that. Senescence is the decline after the peak. I look forward to senescence and in looking forward I am preparing today to accept it. So easy. So difficult.

I am not perfect. I accept this. I have a physical imperfection that came with birth. Most people don’t see it even though it’s right there on my face looking at them. Because it is such a part of who I am, though, I decided to honor it with an art project. It perfectly portrayed my goal to age gracefully by accepting who I am today (and tomorrow, and all the days forthcoming).

I took all that I loved and created a montage of images, which you see above. I love cemetery photography; there are two cemetery images blended in the background. I love the imperfection I was born with and made it the focal point. And I love distressed images, images with lots of texture. Texture adds depth and character. Together with the concept of aging gracefully, I created Senescence.

Art

On the Wall

I framed it behind an old, weathered door frame with glass insets that I found at a salvage store. I don’t know how the glass survived but it did. It is a heavy piece but it hangs prominently on a wall in my apartment.

Below is the original photo. I asked a dear friend to take this photo for my art project and he obliged. The wind whipped through and before I could move hair out of my eyes, my friend pressed the shutter release. Perfect.

121/365

121/365

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on March 2, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Honestly, I would be a little creeped out every time I came home to an eye staring at me!!
    Great work though!!

  2. I like it. A celebration of life, endurance, beauty, and will.

  3. You did a beautiful job on the montage, and it looks just great in that size and format. It’s at once arresting and intriguing. Also, very clever and resourceful mounting and framing–it’s all there!

    • Thanks, Gary. I had the image printed first. Size constraints with the printer meant I could only go so wide so I had to find the perfect width in a door. When I went to the salvage store I told them what I wanted and this guy walked with me through all the doors looking for it; we found it. The door is not a standard-sized door so as far as I’m concerned, it was a miracle. And it had the glass already in it. It cost me $35.00. Woohoo!

      • Apparently (as I have suspected for some time), you too have a photo guardian watching over you. Isn’t it wonderful when they come through for us?

  4. Wow, what an impact this photo and story makes on me, and I’m sure others viewing this post. I love the word as well. And the concept of aging gracefully. The work has such a powerfull presence. It shouts “take a good, long, closer look at me and who I am.” Just wonderful, Dezra. The more I see of you, the artist, the more I hope to meet you some day in person! What a revelation of your true inner self!!!!

    • It can be rather frightening to reveal oneself, flaws and all. This post was not easy, to be honest. But to be true to my goal of aging gracefully, I must accept myself as I am. I am a master at Photoshop (I taught it for three years to university students) so I know how to manipulate people in images. I won’t do that to myself, though, because I think it is irresponsible.

      And we can meet someday, after all, we live in the same State! 🙂

  5. That’s a beautiful montage and looks wonderful on the wall.

  1. Pingback: 175/365 Master Degree Final Project 2008 « Dezra Despain

  2. Pingback: Senescence: Inevitable? | Just a Little Healthier

Leave a Reply

