114/365 A Walk Along the Monon

114/365 Woods

114/365

It has been six years since I took this photo while walking on the Monon Trail. At first I thought it was a remnant of the railway system, a pole with planks nailed to it so workers could fix whatever is at the top of a pole on a railway system. But as I look at it, that appears to be a tree, not a pole. Now I imagine kids hammering planks into the tree so they could climb to the top. But what is at the top? I don’t remember! And because I don’t remember, I can’t fully explain what this means. But it sure looks like fun!

A little bit about the Monon Trail: The Monon Trail used to be the Monon Railroad. The portion of the railroad that extended into Indianapolis was deserted and eventually found its way into the Rails-to-Trails movement. The trail length is approximately 18 miles.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on February 24, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It doesn’t matter what’s at the top! It’s there, and they found a way to, shall we say, rise to the challenge. I’ve done the same as a boy. Sometimes I still do!

  2. ‘Rails-to-trails’ – I like the sound of that. We have a number of old railways converted into cycle tracks / footpaths here, but not with such a poetic name for the process!

Leave a Reply

