112/365 Three Graces

112/365

112/365

The Three Graces located on the grounds at the Indianapolis Museum of Art (IMA) is by far my favorite statue in all of Indianapolis. It is at the end of the sweeping lawns called The Allée in the Oldfields gardens. To visit this statue is to find refuge and tranquility and is well-worth the time to discover it.

There were some things about the statue that I didn’t know but wanted to include in the description above. I knew it was called the Three Graces and that it is at the IMA and that it is located at the end of a expansive lawn. But does that lawn have a name? So I looked it up online. I discovered the lawn is called The Allée and is part of the Oldfields garden. I also discovered that my photo is not unique. If you google “Three Graces, Indianapolis Museum of Art” and look at images only, you will see many photos very similar to mine.

I have been thinking lately about what it is that makes a photo interesting. As much as I like this photo because I love the experience I have getting to it, I don’t think the photo is something truly inspiring. It is rather mundane because of so many similar photos taken of it. You would not be able to distinguish this as a photo I took because so many others have taken the same photo. So I have determined that this photo is what I call an informational photo. It says, “Here’s a photo of an interesting statue you may some day want to visit.” It doesn’t say, “Here is beauty and tranquility” or “This is awe-inspiring” or “This is unique”. The photo has no other value than to show you there’s a really cool statue at the IMA that you may want to visit some day.

I’m chuckling to myself right now. I clicked on one of the images on Google images because it looked like a photo I took. For a minute there I thought it took me to my Flickr page of images I have taken of this statue and I got rather excited because maybe, just maybe I did get a unique photo of this statue. Then I remembered that I haven’t uploaded any of my IMA photos to Flickr yet (with the exception of this one today)! See! That’s how indistinct this photo is.

All that being said, though, the Three Graces is impressive and when you see it you will understand how beautiful it is in its surroundings. And perhaps you will get the photo I’ve missed….unless I beat you to it. 🙂

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on February 22, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past, An Indiana Experience and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing!

    BTW, I came across some discussion of ‘record shots’ here: http://www.amateurphotographer.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?81752-Only-a-record-shot

    • Wow. I didn’t know there was a word for it. It’s interesting about the controversy around these kinds of shots and how they are unfortunately being lumped into “snap shots.” Thanks for the link. It has been very informative.

  2. Finding the deeper meaning is exactly what I want to capture with my photography and it’s obviously the hardest part. If you find the secret you must share!

  3. Keep those information photos coming, whether in Indiana, the United States or the world. If we don’t know what’s out there, how do we know what to Google? Many people photograph the same thing, but like fingerprints, snowflakes, DNA, all are unique in their own way! And it is a personal satisfaction when your photo turns out just as great as some of the well-known photographers in the world! Kudos to you, Dezra!

    • Thanks. I do have more photos of this from different perspectives. I’m considering doing a collage with all of them. Many of the others would not be understandable without knowing the statue in full.

    • I’m going to pull all my photos of this statue together to see what I have so that the next time I go there I can find something different about it. It may be that I have to wait for a particular season to photograph it so that it’s not so ubiquitous. I think the problem with it is that it is surrounded on three sides by trees and the sun rises right behind it, casting it in shadow. I was able to capture a glint of sun outlining it, which I like, but so did other photographers. I think statues are difficult to photograph mainly because they don’t change. Their surroundings may change (in the case of this statue, though, the evergreens are…well…evergreen and therefore even they don’t change). But it is a wonderful experience just being there.

Leave a Reply

