105/365 Doll Face

105/365 Doll Face

105/365

All my life I’ve advocated for brunettes with dark brown eyes because that is me. I love the richness of the color, the sensuality. Growing up, however, the blonde with blue eyes was the preferred choice and at times I felt slighted or overlooked because of my dark hair and eyes. I resented the blonde, so it surprised me one day to walk through Goodwill (a second hand store) where I got caught up short by this blonde-haired, blue-eyed doll. I connected with her there in the aisles. Someone had discarded her and she seemed to be pleading with me to take her home. I stood there fighting myself on this. She’s blonde! I told with myself. But you need her, I argued back. What! Why do I need a blonde-haired doll??? I already had a dark-haired doll at home. One is enough.

But I bought her anyway and took her home. I sat the blonde next to the brunette and marveled at how the blonde out-classed the brunette. And I continued to argue with myself about the blonde. Send her back, I told myself. You sold yourself out by bringing a blonde into the house. I got angry every time I looked at the two dolls side-by-side. Because I preferred the blonde!

But then one day as I looked at them I realized, this is crazy. They’re DOLLS! Blonde or brunette. It really didn’t matter. If the dolls were people, I would like both of them! Once I accepted her for being blonde and stopped being angry at myself for it, I didn’t need her anymore.

So I sent her back to Goodwill where she could work her charm on someone else.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on February 15, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

