91-100/365 Catching UP

February derailed me. I put a lot of computer time into the Super Bowl and TURF:IDADA Art Pavilion (which was actually part of the Super Bowl events) then promptly got sick. Also, I am rather disheartened right now because I feel like my photography has stagnated. I remember taking a watercolor course a long time ago and although I don’t do watercolor today, one piece of advise the instructor mentioned has stuck with me for all these years. She effectively said, “You will get to a point in your watercolor when you know it isn’t done but you don’t know what else to do because you’ve done everything you know how to do. This is when you start pushing in colors and working through this stuck phase. Don’t give up. It will look like there is nothing else you can do but if you keep working on it, suddenly it becomes the watercolor you envisioned.” I’ve kept this in mind all these years. It’s not just with watercolor, it’s with life. Right now I feel disheartened and I feel like I’m stuck, but I’m pushing through and working on things, even if my photographs are bland and mundane. And hopefully, one day my photographs will suddenly become what I envisioned.

Anyway, I’m catching up with February’s images in this single post and hopefully will be back on track.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on February 10, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I have not seen any evidence of bland or mundane since i have been following your blog. Maybe it is just cabin fever. I pray your health and psyche improve daily.

    • Aside from the Super Bowl posts and the Turf posts, most of what I’ve posted have been photos I’ve taken in the past–not current photos. Overall, though, I’m doing fine and I thank you for your prayers. I just need to refine my reason for taking photos and figure out what makes me happy. I’m getting there. I have a strong idea of what is fulfilling for me. I need to do more of it, though. 🙂 As I said in the post, I’m pushing through this stuck portion until I come out the other end.

  2. It looks to me like it’s been a pretty good February after all. My favorites are the backwards “nothing” (for some reason, it’s stuck in my mind and keeps coming back) and the mossy trees with their reflections. Have you tried the latter in monochrome?

Leave a Reply

