75/365 Yo, Heave Ho!

I confess. I have a dark, humorous side to me. I could have selected a lovely image of just the candle and its reflection because I actually do have one—a single colorful votive candle lit from inside, its light reflecting off the surface. The room was dark, intentionally so, in order to bring out the beauty of the candle. I could have used that image. But I didn’t.

Colorful Votive Candle and Macabre Face

75/365

I love storytelling and photography can tell wonderful stories. They say a picture is worth a thousand words, and I believe it, as long as the photo elicits an emotion from the viewer.

I am all about finding meaning in everything, also. My apartment is filled with meaning. The plants are meaningful because they’ve survived my fickleness and I love them for it. All of my furniture except my bed came to me through my dearest friends. Artwork is a product of either my own making or a gift. There is very little that doesn’t hold meaning for me.

I have three sons. And as kids, their humor/interests tended towards the grotesque so remembering a song from my own youth, taught to me by my own brothers, I started singing it for my sons’ birthdays and they loved it. It has since become traditional for us to sing it at birthdays instead of the typical “Happy Birthday To You” song. My song, and I say “my” only because I haven’t heard anyone else sing it but me, is sung to the tune of “Song of The Volga Boatmen” (or “Yo, Heave Ho!”) modified just a little to accommodate the extra words. (The link takes you to a wonderful YouTube version…just the first 26 seconds is plenty—you’ll recognize it.)

When I took this photo, I couldn’t help but think it paired perfectly with “my” birthday song so I made a birthday card from it and have since sent it to many dear, and equally appreciative, friends.

Macabre Birthday Card

To This Day My Boys Still Prefer This Birthday Song Over the Traditional

When I went to select today’s photo, I had the choice of a pretty votive or this macabre image of me being grossly illuminated. Because it tells a better story and has a history of meaning for me, I opted for this one. The single votive pales in comparison. So there you have it. 🙂

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on January 16, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That’s my favorite birthday song too!

    • You know it??? I haven’t heard anyone else sing it, though it had to come from somewhere since my brother’s sang it when I was a kid and I know they didn’t make it up. Hmmm. Glad to know I’m not the only one with that kind of sense-of-humor.

Leave a Reply

