Saturday In The Park–Holliday Park

I haven’t been posting photos to 365 Days Journey Through the Past for the last couple of days because I’m rather discouraged. Don’t get me wrong, I’m on track. I’ve been adding them to my Flickr account and at the end of the month they will be included in the monthly wrap-up, but right now I can’t help but wonder, what’s the point? I can tell that in the past during January I wasn’t really inspired and under other circumstances the photos would remain filed away on my computer because they really aren’t that good.

Part of my problem right now is that I don’t know what direction I want to go with photography; nature? people? animals? urban? other???? I love cemeteries and have tons of cemetery photos. I also love urban decay and have done some fun things with that. But I’m not inspired by either one right now. I want to include a human element to my photos, also—I had a lot of fun photographing my friend’s children!—but I’m still rather reticent to ask strangers if I can photograph them. I think I need an infusion of newness. I love Indianapolis, but I’ve been here too long without a change of scenery! I need a vacation!

Anyway, it snowed FINALLY and the snow is still on the ground so I thought I’d go to Holliday Park and see what I could find. At first it was the same stuff as always. I live a few blocks from Holliday Park so I go there a lot. Then I went into the Nature Center and sat watching the birds and squirrels through the one-way window. I lifted the camera to my eye and before I knew it, I got lost taking photos. Enjoy!

Squirrel on Branch

Taken Outside the Nature Center

Three Hanging Pinecones

Pinecones; I bet the Nature Center had a kid's day where they covered pinecones in peanut butter

White-Breasted Nuthatch at Birdfeeder

White-Breasted Nuthatch

Red-Bellied Woodpecker and Hairy Woodpecker at Bird Feeder

Red-Bellied Woodpecker and Hairy Woodpecker

Squirrel Drinking at Small Stream

Part of the landscape is a small stream.

Cardinal in Snow

Cardinal

I used my 55-250mm zoom lens. I set the white balance for cloudy, which worked well outside. When I went inside the Nature Center and shot through the windows, I assumed I should keep it at cloudy. But, nope, when I color corrected in camera RAW, I learned I should have set the white balance to fluorescent. I’ll have to read up on why the indoor lighting superseded the outdoor lighting when my subjects were outside. Hmmmmm…..

UPDATE: I pondered this over the course of the day and came to the conclusion that the actual light hitting the camera sensor was from inside the building, not the outside light, and therefore need to take into consideration the indoor light situation. That is my conclusion at this point, but I’m still going to look into it.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on January 14, 2012, in An Indiana Experience, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

    • Thanks, Mitchum! I love Holliday Park and have done a lot of photography on the ruins. But I completely forgot about the Nature Center. It’s a wonderful way to relax and to try my hand at photographing birds and other wildlife.

Leave a Reply

