62/365 The Lamp Pull Belongs To Me

Bare Light

62/365

Ah, yes. The bungalow in Irvington (suburb of Indianapolis). Bedroom. Bare bedroom light fixture right over my head. Why does this make me smile? (And it does!) All the light fixtures in the house allowed two light bulbs. However, all the light fixtures in the house only lit one of them. There was no point in putting in a second light bulb.

I lived in a state of perplexity while in the bungalow. How much do I dress it up and add to its value and thereby profiting the slumlord? And how much do I just let slide? I didn’t purchase ceiling lamp shades, as you can see. But I did buy a crystal lamp pull just for me. And when I left this wonderful/terrifying house, I took the lamp pulls with me.

Why do I have such fond memories of a home so apparently horrifying?

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on January 3, 2012, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Oh, I love the old Bungalows (sorry about the slumlord), just something magical about them, and seeing the old light fixtures, just speaks to me. I love the light pull. 🙂 It makes so so sad to see these old houses falling tor run too. Great post! 🙂

    • Bungalows have character…this one is no exception. And without the slumlord I would not have interesting stories to tell! Like, you, I find it sad to see these old houses falling into ruin. It will be sad when this house is destroyed, because I’m sure that’s what will happen.

  2. Hello! I’m new to the photo blogging world & would love to follow you on your ‘365’ journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

