58/365 What Is It With Hats?

Dezra Wearing A Favorite Hat

58/365--and no, this hat is not a fedora. I lost the fedora.

I received a fedora as a birthday gift back in 2008. I wasn’t quite sure what to do with it as I hadn’t worn a hat in decades. My friend said, “It screamed your name.” I thought, “It probably screamed, ‘DON’T GIVE ME TO DEZRA.'” But I graciously (I hope) accepted the fedora and wore it on that hot August day for the rest of the day. As the months passed and I kept looking at it, I asked myself, “Why did my friend think this hat was ME?” I was totally flummoxed. I felt totally awkward even having it in the house.

Then I changed the question and asked, “Well, if she thought it screamed my name, then what about ME says I wear hats?” So I challenged myself to wear it to see if others thought the same. Apparently they did.

What I think happened is that in American culture, hats weigh in as counter-culture (we are not a hat-wearing nation) and counter-culture is equated with creatives. Because of my love for art/photography/design, I am considered a creative. So hats fit me. (I also look good in them!)

Unfortunately for the fedora, I left it at a restaurant and failed to realize it so I lost it. But fortunately for me, I have picked up a variety of other hats. I even name them. (Actually, they tell me their names.) This one’s name is Bianca. Tomorrow I’m considering posting Gertrude.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on December 30, 2011, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past, Musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

