33/365 Microphone or Ornament?

White Microphone

Original 33/365

I found this photo. It is white against a black background. Tiny holes have been drilled into it, and there is writing stamped on it. It looks like a microphone, but it isn’t. It is boring, whatever it is. But this is the best I can do for today…and for the next FIVE days!!! I have nothing in my photography stash for the next five days!

I must have been busy during the first weeks of December over the years, too busy to take photos. Perhaps I was attending holiday parties or perhaps the weather wasn’t cooperating. For a number of years, I know I was busy with end-of-semester projects and finals as I worked through my graduate program, which leaves my photo imagery unimaginative. Because of this, for the next couple of days I will break with the photography and instead engage in my other love; design. I will use photos from anytime throughout the year and turn them into some kind of design that celebrates this seasonal time of year.

With that in mind, I took this rather boring image and played with it in Photoshop. Nothing fancy, just an inversion of color and then saturating some colors and desaturating others to get the bronzed look. I like to think of it as an ornament getting ready to be hung on a tree.

Bronze Ornament

33/365

P.S. I know, this isn’t a design, but it can be a design element. Who knows? It may end up in an upcoming design.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on December 5, 2011, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I like these images. All those repeating shapes are really interesting.

Leave a Reply

