28/365 Reflection of Freedom

Flag Reflected in Window

28/365

Hm. Not sure how to approach this photo. The flag is in the window of the City/County building in downtown Indianapolis. I had anticipated filing my petition for divorce on this particular day in 2008, but it was the Friday after Thanksgiving and the building was closed. So I took photos instead. In a way, the flag is symbolic of the freedom I was soon to experience. But the divorce was benign and we’re still friends so, really, the freedom isn’t what was important for me.

Right now, today, though, as I look at the photo I’m disturbed. The flag should inspire me to patriotism, but with all the turmoil that is going on and the polarities being created, I’m not so patriotic anymore and that makes me sad.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on November 30, 2011, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

