365/359 The Tower Enigma

Bell Tower

365/359

Thus far each photo has prompted me to reflect on something within the photo, whether it be the story behind the photo or a story within the photo. But this one stumps me. It doesn’t ask me to reflect on anything and yet, I like it. Is it the colors? The warm tones of the building against the cool tones of the sky? The depth of each color? Or is it because the tower rises out of the shadows into the warmth of the late afternoon sun? Once when I looked at it, I caught the skirts of a woman as she pulled away from the balcony. Who was that woman and why has she not returned? Perhaps there’s a touch of nostalgia of a building not quite old enough to be located in the past but still reminiscent of the past to which it points.

Maybe this photo stumps me because there is no single story that speaks to me, but a number of stories that all clamor for equal attention. I cannot choose one story over the other; I am unsettled.

So I continue to contemplate this image and perhaps in time one story will emerge over the others.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on November 9, 2011, in 365 Days Journey Through the Past, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

