Things That Make Me Happy: Coffee Mugs

We shall never cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.
-T.S. Eliot (Four Quartets)

Coffee mugs make me happy. Not just any coffee mugs. MY coffee mugs! I have three!

Three coffee mugs

They each have a story.

Coffee Mug #1: The Original

Coffee Mug #1; The Original

You can't tell by the picture, but the handle is broken and there is a crack along the bottom

I found this mug a long time ago. It had a nice, hefty feel to it and it holds a LOT. It also appealed to the grunge in me at the time. This coffee mug made me happy. Then in December of 2009 it broke and I was devastated! Thus my journey into mug-land began.

I started with Meijer since that is where I got The Original. But Meijer didn’t carry them anymore. So I went to Target and Home Goods. I even dared the scary peopleofwalmart but nothing.

Meijer had some white-ware that had a single mug that would suffice until I found one that I really wanted. So enter…

Coffee Mug #2: The Interim

Coffee Mug #2

Note the delicate handle. I thought it would break in an instant!

I was not happy with this mug. It felt delicate. It was white. No personality. But it was all I could find. I never stopped looking for a real replacement, though. However, in time I grew accustomed to this mug. The memory of the heft of the original mug slowly diminished and the delicate nature of this mug became the norm. As I stopped looking for replacements, I started appreciating the simple beauty of this mug and soon I forgot all about The Original. This one made me happy.

Then the rapture craze began. My balcony became the rapture balcony because I outfitted it so that I could comfortably watch all the people being raptured. One day while in Goodwill I found my….

Coffee Mug #3: Rapture Mug

Coffee mug #3; rapture mug

In spite of having a rapture mug, I didn't see anyone get raptured.

Doesn’t that just look like a rapture mug? It has flowers. It is blue and green, the color of sky and earth. It talks of English gardens and heaven. It whispers of faraway places but keeps me in the here-and-now. I couldn’t pass it up. I found it at Goodwill and it even came with a plate. When I drink on my balcony, I use this mug. This one made me happy.

One day while strolling through Goodwill looking for a dress to wear to a wedding, I saw…. Could it be? After all these many months of searching? My eyes zoomed in on the mug of my dreams….

Coffee Mug #1 & #4: The Original Returns

Coffee Mug #1 and #4

I missed you. Mmmmmm.

My mug returned to me.

Life is cyclical, like a spiral, where the end meets the beginning only on a different level. I have taken a year and a half journey through mug-land. I lost a treasured mug, which made me open my eyes to different mugs. I learned to accept and love mugs for what they are rather than what I want them to be. I have been gifted with special mugs that came into my life at the right time. And in the end I return much richer to the place where I began.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on July 4, 2011, in Things That Make Me Happy. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

