RIF

It took me a week to recover. Well, almost recover. Let’s just say it took me a week to *snap* out of it, look around me and see the mess I’d let fall around me. It’s not like I didn’t know this was coming, but when it happens it’s still disconcerting. I watched my work-world falling down around me for over a year but I kept at it because of my loyalty to a friend. Then they riffed me. And I fell into a funk.

One day a week later I woke up, still a bit sleepy, and went out on my rapture balcony. It had rained overnight–I remember the stormy anger and had felt comforted by it–and in the morning droplets glistened on my basil.

Droplets on Basil

Glistening Drops of Rain on Basil

Then I noticed a bottle of wine and a half-full wine glass covered in the slick wetness of the rain and thought, “Wow, I never leave a half-full wine glass.”

Half-Full Wine Glass

Looks luscious, doesn't it? I think so.

That’s when I really woke up!

I went inside and saw–really saw–my messy apartment. In that moment I vowed I would not let this situation drag me down.

Messy Apartment

What a Mess!

So it took me a week to recover. I still have to remind myself of my vow to not let this drag me down…some days are better than others…but I’m not falling into myself anymore and that is good! In fact, it’s great! All the energy I poured into my job now belongs to me and with that renewed energy I’m finding the strength I need to pursue what I must pursue. And all is good.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on June 25, 2011, in Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

