One Strong Belief

I’m participating in The Domino Project’s “Trust Yourself (#Trust30) Writing Challenge” where the participants are challenged to respond to a writing challenge for the next 30 days. I came late to the challenge…all of two days…so I missed the first two challenges. I’m picking up on this third challenge and perhaps at the end I will continue with the first two.

It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion; it is easy in solitude to live after our own; but the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude. – Ralph Waldo Emerson, Self-Reliance

The world is powered by passionate people, powerful ideas, and fearless action. What’s one strong belief you possess that isn’t shared by your closest friends or family? What inspires this belief, and what have you done to actively live it?

“One Strong Belief.”

Wow. I don’t know how or where to begin. I guess I should begin at the beginning. But I don’t know where that is! So perhaps I just jump right in and confuse you, unless you understand the odd connections I make in my head. So here goes.

I believe in Archetypes. I believe so strongly in this that I don’t know how to believe in anything else. I believe we follow patterns and those patterns constellate into an archetypal form and that form engages us [have I lost you yet?] and we are caught by the pattern [is your mind wandering?] and if we don’t see the pattern we will repeat it over and over. But if we do see the pattern and we understand what it takes to break it (and it tends to be difficult to break even when you see it), then we can end the pattern. The archetype.

That’s what I believe. And it sounds crazy or odd or abstract.

I can’t help but believe in archetypes because I see them everywhere.

And I can’t help but live it.

Every day.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on June 3, 2011, in Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

