5 Best Practices of Social Media–Well, Ok, Only 4 So Far.

A few weeks ago I joined in the viral destruction of the character of a rather immature person who made a bad comment on a blog. I won’t say who it was or what it was about, only that the comment and subsequent discussions were rather appalling and, frankly, amusing. And because they were amusing, I posted a link to the comments, making fun of the person. Then I began to feel awful. Yes, this person was dumbfoundingly stupid but did that mean I had to join in the viral glee of making fun? I don’t do it in real life so why did I do it then? That’s when I started thinking of Best Practices.

In the business world, Best Practices is “a method or technique that has consistently shown results superior to those achieved with other means, and that is used as a benchmark.(1)”

As I start my personal branding, I want to establish some Best Practices of my own and have come up with a small handful of ideas:

1. Think Before You Tweet

This is a variation of “Think before you speak.” I will take time to consider what it is that I’m tweeting (or adding to my Facebook status). Does it add to the well-being of others? Is it fun in a nice way? If it’s fun in a mean way, then it doesn’t get posted. There is so much negativity and destruction going on in the world, I don’t want to add to it.

2. Do Not Drink and Text…

…or tweet or status update or blog. This is a no-brainer. But I’m going to add more to it. I will not text, tweet, update, or write while tired or angry, either. I have learned over the years that I’m rather irrational under those circumstances! One semester while in college and under the influence of no sleep, I pretty much confided via email my existential soul to one of my religion professors. The next day as the sun scattered the shadows of the night, I was rather embarrassed at what I wrote. That was when I swore I would never again write while under the influence of an irrational state-of-mind.

3. If I read something online that is worth sharing…

…I will share! I love the idea of backlinks and the surprise of retweets. I admit that the very first retweet of one of my tweets had me dancing! Such simple joys.

4. My ultimate goal is to build people up and hopefully make them smile

It makes me smile to make others smile. So my posts will be, if not amusing, at least positive.

These are only four of many more that will develop over time as I learn more about what I’m doing and how I will go about doing it. Anyone else have any input?

(1) http://www.businessdictionary.com/definition/best-practice.html

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on May 31, 2011, in Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

