Backlinks!

After I published my last post, I kept reading “Branding Yourself; How to use social media to invent or reinvent yourself” and discovered a small faux pas I made that I must fix! The book talks about backlinks and how important they are to blogging and SEO (search engine optimization).

A backlink is basically a link that goes back to your site from an outside site. The more backlinks you have, the higher your site ranks on the search engines. That’s because search engines like Google measure a site’s credibility (and therefore, rank) based on the number of backlinks. At their simplest, backlinks can come from other authors and readers via their own blog or by leaving a comment on someone else’s blog and linking back to your own. [Branding Yourself, pg 154]

It’s not that I want to backlink to my blog…haha! I’m writing from my blog!…but that I failed to backlink to Erik Deckers’ and Kyle Lacy’s websites! A courtesy I am rectifying right now and promise not to do to others. So much to learn!

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on May 23, 2011, in Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

