I look forward to hearing from you

Sometimes I sign my emails

“I look forward to hearing from you.”

But that’s like saying “I see your voice.”

Can I also say, I smell the color of your eyes?

Or, let me taste your laugh?

I would love to touch the scintillating thought of numbers

But don’t know if I have eaten enough rainbows.

Sigh.

But I do know

I look forward to hearing from you.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on April 21, 2011, in Life's Metaphors, Photography. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Well, you’re actually LOOKING to hear. You’re looking forward to the experience.

    That being said, it’s perfectly groovy to me to describe a sensory experience with the “wrong” sense. I mean, you say that something “smells cold”, it definitely conjures up a specific smell (which I’d describe as a sharp, bluish, jolt). Maybe it’s just my senses bleeding into one another. Ah, who knows? However you can take in the world, take it in!

  2. But Dezra, I do all those things all the time! As for hearing from you, when I read your posts, your e-mails, your messages, I hear your voice speaking them. I literally hear from you.

    Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Rick

Leave a Reply

