The Search

It is time. Time to grow. I love the Robin Wood tarot deck, but it no longer serves me. I need something . . . . else. I can’t express what it is, just that I will know it when I see it.

So the search begins. At first I thought the Thoth deck would work. I had one available so I read it, read about it, and tried to use it but I couldn’t shake a sense of wrongness that came with it.

I was in Border’s Books when I saw a Tarot deck that looked promising. So I researched it online — a big “no” to that deck but I came across two other possible decks: The Gilded Tarot and Legacy of the Divine Tarot, both by Ciro Marchetti. The imagery in both of them looked promising.

I went to New Age People, a local new age store, to see if I could actually see and touch the cards. I held both decks in my hands, excited by both. Suddenly for no reason that I can fathom, the Gilded Tarot leapt out of my hands and skittered across the floor, thumping into a woman’s foot. She looks up at me and says, “That must mean something.” I looked at the Legacy of the Divine Tarot left in my hands and replied, “I think it means I’m left with the deck I’m supposed to have.”

But I’m still skeptical. I don’t want to spend almost $30 on a deck that eventually doesn’t work for me. So I ask someone there if I can open the box. Yes, I can open the box. But the cards were shrink-wrapped and I couldn’t open those. So I read about the cards in the enclosed book. It talked about a world that had been destroyed and that “Millennia have passed and only humankind has survived–through the divine gift of dreams.” That spoke to me.

So I took the plunge.

And plunge I did.

About Dezra Despain

Life is full of stories waiting to be revealed.

Posted on April 3, 2010, in Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

